Archive for May 15th, 2008

Sewing

When I made my new banner, I included sewing as one of the subjects of my blog. My mom taught me how to sew when I was about nine years old, and I loved it. I made a large quilt about six years for my bed, and I still use it today – it’s the best bedspread I’ve had. It was a very simple quilt where I took squares, sewed them into strips and sewed the strips together. I’ve never actually done quilting – for this quilt I took lengths of yarn threaded through a needle, and tied them through the three layers of the quilt to keep the batting in place (I know this method has a name, but I don’t know what it is). So, last summer I started a ‘real’ quilt.

It’s taken so long for the simple reason that a sewing machine just isn’t portable like knitting is. But, I’m hoping to get back to the quilt, and sew some clothing this summer, also. I got a few patterns for a skirt and blouses last weekend, and now I’m on the hunt for some fabric. Any references for a good on-line fabric source would be welcome.

With regards to knitting, Glee is coming along nicely.

The sleeve stitches are now on scrap yarn, and I’ve joined the body for knitting in the round.

Lastly, I finally got a skein of Noro Sock yarn.

It’s color s164, and I can’t wait to cast-on.

I probably won’t blog again until next week, so I hope you all have a great Friday and weekend!


Ron Paul 2008

Current Projects

  • Babette Blanket
  • Toe-Up Socks
  • Meida's Socks
  • Bird-In-Hand Mittens
  • Josephine Top
May 2008
S M T W T F S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Flickr Photos

Future Projects

Sweaters
-Tangled Yoke Cardigan
-Refined Aran Jacket
-Demi
-Salina
-Swan Lake Cardigan
-Cable Down Raglan
-Dollar and a Half Cardigan
-Henley Perfected
-Venezia Pullover
-Ivy League Vest
-Autumn Rose Pullover
-Tilted Duster
-Equinox Yoke Pullover
-Ariann
-Cobblestone Pullover
-Hourglass Sweater
-ZephyrStyle Tree Jacket
-Enid Cardigan
-Union Square Market Pullover
-Top-Down Arwen Cardigan
-Counterpane Pullover
-Colette Pullover
-El Sol Pullover
-Tweedy Aran Cardigan
-Gathered Pullover
-Printed Silk Cardigan
Accessories
-Hemlock Ring Blanket
-Flower Basket Shawl
-Noro Striped Scarf
-Arctic Diamonds Stole
Socks
-Entrelac Socks
-Roza's Socks