Blankets and a Swatch

I hope everyone had a great weekend.  I knitted quite a bit on a project that has been neglected for over a month. 
mitered_square_afghan3.jpg
Yes, I finally picked up my Mitered Square Afghan again. I forgot how much fun this blanket is to knit.
mitered_square_afghan1.jpg
Unlike other patterns I’ve seen for mitered square blankets, these squares are not knit individually. Stitches for the next square are picked up along the sides of the squares already made. I’m sure the afghan will get to be quite a large piece of knitting in my lap by the time it’s done, but at least I won’t have any seaming to do. I guess I’d better finish this one soon – I won’t want a large piece of wool in my lap in a couple of months!

I couldn’t let the weekend go without knitting at least two Babette Blanket squares.
babette_squares_16.jpg

Below is a 10-round square, the only one in my version of the blanket.
babette_squares_17.jpg

The two fronts of the Central Park Hoodie are finished and will be blocking tonight, I hope. So, this weekend I swatched for the Dollar-and-a-Half Cardigan.
dollar_andahalf_swatch.jpg
The Reynolds Soft Linen is very nice to work with and the finished fabric is soft with a nice sheen. I’m really looking forward to making this cardigan.

I’ve been looking for a substitute for the Fiesta La Luz used in the Printed Silk Cardigan, and last week I ordered some silk yarn from Colourmart. I ordered this yarn in Lilac Steel. It was $60.00 including shipping for the 38″ size. Great, huh? But I just read this post, and I’m getting quite nervous. I’m a naturally tight knitter, so I hope I can get gauge with this yarn. If I can’t, I’m not sure what I’ll do with it. I really hope I can make it work! If it doesn’t I can go back to my original choice for a yarn sub, Frog Tree Pima Silk. Lolly is making a Printed Silk Cardigan in this yarn, and it looks like it’s working well for her so far.

Also, Bonnie Marie Burns, the designer of the Aleita Shell has posted a modeled photo of the shell here, and Jennifer Tallapaneni, designer of the Mirabella Cardigan has posted a modeled photo here (scroll down to the bottom of both posts for the photos). I’m so glad designers with their own blogs do this so much of the time, now!

And last but not least, my sister Priscilla, who maintains our family blog, made this Layered Mocha Cheesecake over the weekend. It was sooooo delicious! I don’t think many other cheesecakes can beat this one, especially if you like coffee and chocolate!

3 Responses to “Blankets and a Swatch”


  1. 1 Oiyi February 18, 2008 at 10:52 pm

    Oh, that mitered square blanket is gorgeous! Love the colors.

  2. 2 lucy February 20, 2008 at 1:24 pm

    Thumbs up for both your blankets! They already are stunning and the more you energy you put in them, the special they’ll be. Good luck!

  3. 3 Laura July 23, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    Hi,

    What is the pattern for the Mitered Square Afghan. I would like to make a baby blanket with the pattern. Its exactly what i am looking for. Thank you.

    my email is l_a_graham@hotmail.com

    Thanks

    ~*~Laura~*~


Leave a Reply

Ron Paul 2008

Current Projects

  • Babette Blanket
  • Toe-Up Socks
  • Meida's Socks
  • Bird-In-Hand Mittens
  • Josephine Top
February 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  

Flickr Photos

Future Projects

Sweaters
-Tangled Yoke Cardigan
-Refined Aran Jacket
-Demi
-Salina
-Swan Lake Cardigan
-Cable Down Raglan
-Dollar and a Half Cardigan
-Henley Perfected
-Venezia Pullover
-Ivy League Vest
-Autumn Rose Pullover
-Tilted Duster
-Equinox Yoke Pullover
-Ariann
-Cobblestone Pullover
-Hourglass Sweater
-ZephyrStyle Tree Jacket
-Enid Cardigan
-Union Square Market Pullover
-Top-Down Arwen Cardigan
-Counterpane Pullover
-Colette Pullover
-El Sol Pullover
-Tweedy Aran Cardigan
-Gathered Pullover
-Printed Silk Cardigan
Accessories
-Hemlock Ring Blanket
-Flower Basket Shawl
-Noro Striped Scarf
-Arctic Diamonds Stole
Socks
-Entrelac Socks
-Roza's Socks

