FO: Phyllo Yoked Pullover

phyllo_yoked_pullover2.jpg
The last few days we’ve had beautiful sunny weather – perfect for taking pictures of the Phyllo Yoked Pullover. Sorry about my squinting expressions – it really has been sunny!
phyllo_yoked_pullover1.jpg
I love this sweater! It fits well and the yarn is nice and soft. My favorite things about the sweater are the belled sleeves and the yoke. The sweater was a lot of fun to knit, and it really went pretty quickly.
phyllo_yoked_pullover4.jpg
The sleeves, front and back of the sweater are knit seperately, and then joined on a circular needle to knit the yoke. The yoke is a lot of fun to knit, and the rounds go faster as you decrease stitches.
phyllo_yoked_shaping2.jpg
I made two modifications to the sweater.

First, I added waist shaping to the body (seen in the photo above). I do this with pretty much every pullover I make because boxy, straight down sweaters don’t fit me well. I usually add waist shaping by starting my decreases after I have about two or three inches of the body done. I decrease with two border stitches around the edges (k2, ssk at the beginning of the row or round; k2tog, k2 at the end of the row or round). I decrease every 5 or 6 rows or rounds about five times, knit 5 or 6 rows or rounds even, then start increasing back out for the bust in the same way with M1 increases.

The other modification was to the sleeves. When I started them, the pattern had you cast on 59 stitches for each sleeve. When I held it up on my arm, the bell on the sleeve was huge. I like belled sleeves, just not that big! So I started the sleeves again with 49 stitches instead. The bell is perfect now. I should have increased back up to 59 stitches when I was doing the sleeve shaping, but I didn’t. So when I came to the yoke, I had to increase stitches on the sleeves to have the correct stitch count. Instead of increasing my stitches gradually over the four rows of plain stockinette stitch at the beginning of the yoke, I decided it would be easier to increase all ten stitches over one round. Because of that, the sleeves puff slightly just befor the shoulder (you can see it in the first two photos I posted of the sweater and ini the photo below). It’s not very noticeable, but I’d increase the stitches differently if I made this again.

And, because it’s so pretty and it was a little obscured in my modeled photos, here’s a picture of the yoke.
phyllo_pullover_yoke1.jpg
Pattern: Phyllo Yoked Pullover from Knitting Nature by Norah Gaughan
Size Knitted: 40″
Yarn: Rowan Calmer, 8 balls in color 477
Needles: US 7 (4.5 mm)
phyllo_yoked_pullover3.jpg
Thanks to my sister Priscilla for going out with me to take the photos in the cold!

5 Responses to “FO: Phyllo Yoked Pullover”


  1. 1 Emilee February 16, 2008 at 7:29 pm

    That’s beautiful! Good call on the waist shaping, it fits really well.

  2. 2 Linda February 18, 2008 at 7:05 am

    The pullover is beautiful, I think I might have to add it to my list of sweaters to knit. I feel the same way about the shaping, it’s more flattering to the figure if there is waist shaping.

  3. 3 Rebekah February 18, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    This is so pretty! The color looks great on you, too.

  4. 4 Oiyi February 18, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    I agree that it’s so pretty!!

  5. 5 Priscilla February 20, 2008 at 10:36 pm

    It was fun taking pictures for you out in the freezing cold – no problem! Hopefully next time it will be warmer out!


Leave a Reply

Ron Paul 2008

Current Projects

  • Babette Blanket
  • Toe-Up Socks
  • Meida's Socks
  • Bird-In-Hand Mittens
  • Josephine Top
February 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  

Flickr Photos

Future Projects

Sweaters
-Tangled Yoke Cardigan
-Refined Aran Jacket
-Demi
-Salina
-Swan Lake Cardigan
-Cable Down Raglan
-Dollar and a Half Cardigan
-Henley Perfected
-Venezia Pullover
-Ivy League Vest
-Autumn Rose Pullover
-Tilted Duster
-Equinox Yoke Pullover
-Ariann
-Cobblestone Pullover
-Hourglass Sweater
-ZephyrStyle Tree Jacket
-Enid Cardigan
-Union Square Market Pullover
-Top-Down Arwen Cardigan
-Counterpane Pullover
-Colette Pullover
-El Sol Pullover
-Tweedy Aran Cardigan
-Gathered Pullover
-Printed Silk Cardigan
Accessories
-Hemlock Ring Blanket
-Flower Basket Shawl
-Noro Striped Scarf
-Arctic Diamonds Stole
Socks
-Entrelac Socks
-Roza's Socks

